background image

Women's Day: Celebrating 100 Female Sustainability Leaders

author image

By illuminem

· 6 min read

On International Women's Day, at illuminem we are proud to celebrate 100 inspiring female leaders who promote sustainability and the fight against climate change across the world.

Our editorial list is composed of 5 honorable mentions, each making a difference in a special way:

  • Thought Leaders
  • Future Thought Leaders
  • Policymakers
  • Activists & Advocates
  • Social Media Top Voices

Please help us congratulate our great female Leaders! Please join us to celebrate all women!

Thought Leaders

  • Clare Shine - Director and CEO, Cambridge Institute for Sustainability Leadership (CISL)
  • Esohe Denise - Managing Director & Head of ESG & Sustainability, PAI Partners
  • Eve Tamme - Founder and Managing Director, Climate Principles
  • Roberta Boscolo - Climate & Energy Lead, United Nations World Metereological Organization (WMO)
  • Dr. Venera N. Anderson - Strategy Advisor and Author | Sustainability and Climate, The Harvard Business Review Advisory Council 

Future Thought Leaders

  • Elrika Hamdi - Energy Finance Analyst, Institute for Energy Economics and Financial Analysis (IEEFA)
  • Mariel Ferragamo - Communications Coordinator & Senior Podcast Produce, The Energy for Growth Hub
  • Sharon Seah - Senior Fellow, ASEAN Studies Centre and the Climate Change
  • Susana Gago - Founder and ES (Ecosystem Steward), UNAKTI


  • Agnes Mulder - Member of the House of Representatives, Netherlands
  • Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez - Member of the House of Representative, USA
  • Amina J. Mohammed - Deputy Secretary-General, United Nations
  • Aminath Shauna - Minister of Environment, Maldives
  • Christiana Figueres - Fmr. Executive Secretary, United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change
  • Christine Hogan - Deputy Minister of Environment and Climate Change, Canada
  • Yasmine Fouad - Minister of Environment, Egypt
  • Francia Márquez - Vice President, Colombia
  • Hilda Heine - Fmr. President, Marshall Islands
  • Jacinda Ardern - Prime Minister, New Zealand
  • Jennifer Morgan - Special Envoy for International Climate Action, German Foreign Ministry
  • Mia Mottley - Prime Minister, Barbados
  • Patricia Espinosa - Fmr. Minister of Interior and Exterior Relations, Mexico
  • Romina Pourmokhtari - Minister for Environment, Sweden
  • Sanna Marin - Prime Minister, Finland
  • Shalanda Baker - Director of the Office of Economic Impact and Diversity, US Department of Energy
  • Vivianne Heijnen - Minister for Environment, Netherlands

Activists & Advocates

  • Anne Simpson - Global Head of Sustainability, Franklin Templeton
  • Autumn Peltier - Anishinaabe Indigenous Rights Advocate
  • Elizabeth Wanjiru Wathuti - Founder, Green Generation Initiative
  • Greta Thunberg - Founder, Fridays for Future
  • Hindou Oumaou Ibrahim - President, Indigenous Women & Peoples Association of Chad
  • Isra Hirsi - Co-founder & co-executive director, U.S. Youth Climate Strike
  • Jamaica Heolimeleikalani - Kanaka Maoli Poet, Educator, and Activist
  • Kate Marvel - Associate Research Scientist, NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies
  • Katharine Wilkinson - Executive Director and Co-founder, The All We Can Save Project
  • Kotchakorn Voraakhom - CEO, Porous City Network
  • Leah Namurgewa - Youth Climate Activist
  • Lola Cabnal - Director for Public Policy, Ak'Tenamit Association
  • Luisa Neubauer - Activist, Fridays for Future
  • Mitzi Jonelle Tan - Convenor and international spokesperson, Youth Advocates for Climate Action Philippines (YACAP)
  • Rachel Kyte - Dean, The Fletcher School at Tufts University
  • Rebecca Prince-Ruiz - Executive Director, Plastic Free July
  • Rhiana Gunn-Wright - Design Research Fellow, ECMC
  • Tessa Khan - Board Member, Climate Breakthrough
  • Vandana Shiva - Indian scholar, Environmental Activist, Food Sovereignty Sdvocate, Ecofeminist and Anti-globalisation Author
  • Vanessa Nakate - Founder, Rise Up Climate Movement

Social Media Top Voices

  • Aniek Moonen - Chair, Dutch Youth Climate Movement
  • Anna Luisa Beserra - CEO, Sustainable Development & Water For All
  • Denise Hills - Founding Member, Rise and Raise Others
  • Durreen Shahnaz - Founder & CEO, Impact Investment Exchange (IIX)
  • Elin Bergman - Cradlenet, Chief Operating Officer/Circular Economy Expert and spokesperson
  • Gabriela Mitri - Founder, Speakhers
  • Helene Li - CEO, GOImpact Capital Partners
  • Jean Guo - Co-founder & CEO, Konexio
  • Judith Urquijo - Content curator, Bee smart city
  • Katarina Uherova Hasbani - Partner and Global Director of Strategy and Advisory,
  • Lubomila Jordanova - CEO & Co-Founder, Plan A
  • Maria Gottenhuber - Management Consultant, Terra Institute
  • Maria Vittoria Bassetto - Head of the Global ESG Alliance & Co-founder, illuminem
  • Mervin Azeta - Global Flexible Work & Culture Project Manager, SLB
  • Mitali Nikore - Transport Specialist, the World Bank
  • Naiara Bertão - ESG editor, Valor Econômico
  • Silvia Organista Sandoval - CSR/ESG Consultant, Green Bee Insights
  • Snjezana Ana Billian - Diversity & Inclusion Lead, EY
  • Stefanie Hauer - Partner and Member of the Board, NatureRe Capital
  • Tatiana Antonelli Abella - Founder & Managing Director, Goumbook FZE


To publish on illuminem amongst our illuminem Thought Leaders contact us.

Did you enjoy this illuminem voice? Support us by sharing this article!
author photo

About the author

illuminem's editorial team - delivering the most effective, updated, and comprehensive access to sustainability & energy information.

Follow us on Linkedin, Instagram & Twitter

Other illuminem Voices

Related Posts

You cannot miss it!

Weekly. Free. Your Top 10 Sustainability & Energy Posts.

You can unsubscribe at any time (read our privacy policy)